All this talk of politics...: 3:44 p.m., 2005-02-09.
writer: Michelle

I'm not big on politics. I don't speak of such things often...for I have noticed that when I do, I become militant and upset at the stupidity of people. I often cry as a result of feeling so sorry for the ignorance of...well...most people around me.

Going off on the free speech tangent that was brought up before me...today in sociology, as I was sleeping with my eyes open as I tend to do, being the ADD child I am...Bill (my professor) mentioned the freedom of speech, and pointed out that there exist limits on it already. There are certain words (and there is apparently a big list of them somewhere) that are not protected by the First Amendment, so basically, if you say them and offend someone, that person can have you arrested, and you cannot call upon that lovely amendment.

This is all the result of a supreme court case...Pacifica v. FCC (1978). We all know about the FCC and censorship and all that good stuff, yeah? Well...ok...the words not protected by the First Amendment are as follows: obscenity, defamation, breach of the peace, incitement to crime, "fighting words," and sedition.

Ah...there are always exceptions to things. Mmmyes. 1978. As time goes on, it could very well happen that more words be added to the lengthy list of words that are not protected...and soon...phrases, full sentences...etc.

Katie and the rest of us should all be afraid.

We should also be afraid of the irrelevant information that I remember from class, and my entries in this that are not nearly as insightful as everyone elses'.

Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, and Tits.

previous - next

index
older
about
members
notes
host